Meeting some MFP Friends and Meet Prep Lifting

Absolute blast on Saturday as I got to meet some people that I have known from My Fitness Pal: Joe, Kristen, and Derek pictured above. We helped each other with our lifts while enjoying each other’s company in probably the crappiest free weight area I have ever had the misfortune to train in! Regardless we got the work done.

• Squat: 135×8, 225×5, 315×1, 350×1,1, 380×1, 405×1.

My last attempt moved relatively easy. I will increase on the platform by 5 or 10 pounds (or kilos) on the platform. I got more in me.

• Bench Press: 135×8,  225×5, 245×3, 265×1, 285, 315×0.

Completely failed on the last attempt bench press. I need to rethink this one. I’ve successfully tested 305 on the platform before and I know with having once successfully benching 315 (although not paused) that I can at least take a modest increase come meet day. Perhaps, just a 5 pound (or whatever kilo approximation) instead.

(No video)

• Deadlift: 135×8, 225×5, 315×3, 405×1.

I just ran my warm-ups considering I just set new PR’s earlier in the week, and since this was my third time deadlifting this week — really no need to go all out. (But I wanted too.)

So that was my lifting, but the best part was meeting everyone and actually lifting with other people than just training lonesomely by yourself. We were all there for each other and it was very much like a meet, except without all the procedure. One thing we did discover about each other that among friends and family, we are outliers when it comes to fitness. Derek and I were the old men of the group and both of us have taken a lot of time off from the gym respectively. What about you? Are you an outlier too? Are you an old man?

2016-01-02 10.59.01

All-in-all, what a great day! Glad I got a chance to meet everyone and I hope we can train more together in the future — life, commitments and family allowing!

TOTALS: 10,320 lbs. 3 exercises, 19 sets. 8/10. 

Leave a Reply

