Freestyle Hypertrophy Day 2

About three weeks ago I decided for some reason that even though I was tapering down for my next meet, that I needed to lift some heavy weights, but not go all out. I decided to squat, but front squat since it would be at smaller percents than my regular squat. I hadn’t done a front squat since late summer, so I figured, WTH, lets test max! Which I did. Everything moved solid and on point and I ended up with a new max of 315 lbs. (I should have captured some video.) My last best was 245 lbs I think.

  1. Barbell Front Squat: 115×6, 140×5, 170×3 (paused), 200×3 (paused), 225×3, 255×8.
  2. BBB Front Squat: 185×10,10,10,10,10. (About 60% of training max.)
  3. RDL: 135×12,12,12,14.
  4. DB Goblet Squat: 70×10,10.

TOTALS: 22,612 LBS. 3 Exercises. 17 sets. 10/10. 72 minutes.

I’m really fascinated by front squat lately and now that I have much more mobility in my shoulders and wrists, I really enjoy doing this lift and want to build up some solid numbers on it.

Leave a Reply

