056B – 351 – SPG

Really humid this morning, so I trained at the gym and I was feeling a little beat up since I ran an hour long conditioning workout with a client the night before pictured below.

2016-05-24 20.23.05-2

  1. Squat (H): 135×7, 150×5, 190×5, 225×5, 245×5, 285×5, 320×5, 245×10.
  2. Push Press: 45×5, 65×5, 80×5, 95×3, 105×5, 120×5, 140×5, 105×10.
  3. DB Floor Press: 75x3x8.
  4. Rear DB Fly: 35x3x8.

TOTALS: 24 sets, 246 reps, 17,455 lbs.

Everything moved pretty good, but I was feeling a little gassed at the end of my squats. I really didn’t push it that hard as I wanted to maintain good form. I skipped all the conditioning stuff that I usually do on the account I had free bootcamp scheduled later that day, like two hours later.

2016-05-25 12.14.49

Pictured above was the bootcamp. It was basically Crossift without strength work before  it, which is exactly what I wanted since I had already done all my strength work that morning. I had to scale back some things on the account of healing injuries, for example, the very first exercise: the step up for height, didn’t want to piss off my groin injury.  Those HRPU “Hand Release Push-Ups (go flat to the ground, release hands, push back up) pissed off my chest injury. First of all I don’t the point of them (other than some very nominal extra core work, it would be better to hold in a plank and hold the contraction for 5 seconds, or just not do them. There was a lot of core work, which was okay I guess, but you know me #trapsoverabs. Otherwise, the trainer was very nice (we talked shop for awhile – she thought it was cool I competed) as well as the 5 other ladies in the class of varying ages. Powerlifting culture is very different from CF culture. Very.

Speaking of injuries, the cone sprints the night before has  re-injured my foot — the plantar fasciitis is back with a vengeance. Four workouts in two days and now I am hurting. The rest of the week I am going to take it easy and study.

Leave a Reply

