061B – 351 Bench Press

Today was one of those days where you go in, even if you slept like crap and have pain and discomfort from injuries in other places in your body. You go in and you do the work, because you might just surprise yourself.

  1. Bench Press: 115×10, 140×8, 170×6, 200×3, 225×3, 255×9 (Exceed rep goal +1), 200x2x10.
  2. Pin Presses: 135×6, 185×3, 205×3, 220×3.
  3. Floor Presses: 135×6, 175×5, 195×5, 215×5.
  4. Cable Face Pullers: 60×12. 70×12, 90×10, 110×10.
  5. Cable Rows:  90×10, 120×10, 130×10, 150×12.

Despite all the nagging injuries, my bench is feeling really really good — like it did before the chest injury picking up Atlas Stones way back in March. Happy about that, what I am not happy about are my other lifts, but I have plan.

My next meet is in less than four weeks. After I finish that meet I am taking a solid 3 weeks off (which equals one training block) and if I have to go in and train (because I know I will) it will be just cable and dumbbell work, no power lifts, and lots of walking and mobility. After three weeks off I am going to return to the Giant Robot for 6 weeks and then test my 1RM and not only take the recommend 10%, but an additional 5% off my 1RM for TM. I need to get my rep counts up.

Lastly, I am going to return to a more power builder format, which means, things I’ve neglected over the past 8-10 months will get attention. As I was sitting on the sofa this morning debating whether to go in and train this morning, I thought about I was relatively injury free during the Giant Robot phase. I’m going to incorporate elements from that with 531 for better health including more gymnastics and skill work.

Leave a Reply

